Required in Michigan for High-Risk Drivers
An SR-22 in Michigan is actually a certificate required by the Secretary of State (SOS) proving high-risk drivers have the proper levels of car insurance. In most cases, your SR-22 certificate must be maintained with the Michigan SOS for 3 years.
Does Michigan Require SR-22 Form?
Your insurance company will file a SR-22 certificate on your behalf with the Michigan SOS. Over the course of the next 3 years, drivers are required to keep an active policy in place with no lapses in coverage.
Is SR-22 Required in Allegan, Michigan?
Yes. For high-risk drivers with convictions for serious traffic violations, an SR-22 certificate is required in the State of Michigan. Serious traffic violations include: hit and run, DUIs, reckless driving, and others.
Are You a High-Risk Driver?
Unfortunately, many drivers in Michigan are considered “high-risk” by the insurance industry and don’t know it. A high-risk driver in Michigan can be someone who has one or more of the following:
Getting Insurance after a DUI?
An individual’s driving history is one of the most important items considered by insurance carriers and DUIs can have a long-term impact on your insurance rates. The good news is most national carriers offer policies for individuals with DUIs. Call us today at (269) 673-9644 and we’ll be happy to assist you in finding the most affordable options available.
High-Risk Insurance FAQs
Michigan uses a point system and certain traffic violations assign points to your driving record. Insurance carriers do not directly use these points to determine rates but they do factor into their scoring system. In short, speeding tickets, DUI convictions, or reckless driving do increase premiums.
Unfortunately, the costs associated with a DWI or DUI conviction continue long after your court case in higher insurance premiums. You may be able to take a “defensive driving” course, increase your deductible, and bundle policies for some relief. But, the single most important thing to do is to avoid accidents and tickets for several years.
Vehicles can be sold in Michigan with a “Salvage Title” or “Rebuilt Title”. These vehicles were in a serious accident and the insurance carrier declared it a total loss. Most insurance carriers only offer limited coverage on salvaged titled cars.
Being Told You Are "Uninsurable"
Largest Selection of Modified Insurance Solutions!
High-Risk Drivers. let us get you back on the road